Nomination deadline May 19 for 11th Annual Franklin Tomorrow Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards


Do you know an unsung hero in Williamson County, someone who gives unselfishly of themselves to make our community a better place? Consider nominating them for one of many awards given as part of Franklin Tomorrow’s 11th Annual Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards.

The ceremony will be held Wednesday, July 26, at Franklin Theatre, but the nomination deadline is Friday, May 19. Additional information can be found at

Awards are presented in a variety of categories to individuals, businesses and civic groups. In 2016, Diane Giddens of Bethesda received the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award to recognize decades of work for WAVES Inc. and other nonprofits. That award is named to honor the decades of service and tremendous impact of Anne T. Rutherford, a founding member of Franklin Tomorrow and an active volunteer for many community organizations. One award is given annually.

The Volunteer Spirit and the Youth Initiative Awards were created to allow more people to be honored for selflessly supporting local non-profit organizations or agencies. The Ned Lea Lifetime Achievement Award was created in 2011 to posthumously honor an exemplary volunteer. While not presented annually, nominations are accepted each year.

Recipients undertake projects large and small, such as the 2016 Youth Initiative Award winner Katie Shelton, who was recognized for her work with High School Heroes, but for also being an example to others in performing random acts of kindness.

Sharing the Civic Group Award in 2016 were Franklin Noon Rotary and the Franklin Firefighters Charities. With a motto of Service Above Self, Franklin Noon Rotary assisted in the installation of more than 100 smoke alarms in partnership with the Red Cross in homes in need. It also added a new feature to the historic Franklin Rodeo to generate hundreds of pounds of food donations to help those in need.

Franklin Firefighters Charities partnered with Williamson County CASA to build a Playhouse which is one of two major fundraisers that CASA holds each year to raise awareness and funds for Williamson County CASA and the abused and neglected children served by the organization.

Additional categories include the Ned Lea Lifetime Achievement Award, Corporate Team Award, and Corporate Volunteer Award. Franklin Tomorrow also presents a Business Legacy Award. Additional awards may be created by the Board of Franklin Tomorrow to recognize significant achievement.

A $500 grant to the winner’s nonprofit of choice accompanies the Anne T. Rutherford Award, while a $250 grant accompanies the other awards.

For more information or questions, please contact Executive Director Mindy Tate or Operations Administrator Carmen Stanek at 615.794.0998.




Comments are closed.