News From the Schools: Winter 2022

Jan 26, 2022 at 03:35 pm by RMGadmin

For more news and information on our local school systems - go to, and 

WCS’s Teachers and Classified Employees of the Year

This year’s Elementary School Teacher of the Year is Edmondson’s, Elaina Gallas. The Elementary School Classified Employee of the Year is Fairview’s Rita Binkley. The Middle School Teacher of the Year is Hillsboro School’s Landon Hardison. Mill Creek’s Holly Pring was named the Middle School Classified Employee of the Year. Fairview’s Stephanie McGaha is the High School Teacher of the Year. The High School Classified Employee of the Year is Ravenwood’s Dave Burnham. Every year, each school selects a teacher and classified employee to honor. A teacher at the elementary, middle and high school level is then selected to be a district Teacher of the Year, qualifying them to compete for State and National honors. A system-wide Classified Employee of the Year is also chosen at the elementary, middle and high school levels. 

Mid, All-State Choirs Announced

More than eighty WCS high school students are now part of the Tennessee Mid-State and All-State Choirs. In addition to being part of the Mid-State Choirs, thirty-eight WCS students were also selected for the Tennessee Music Education Association’s All-State Choirs. To earn their place on the choirs, students were required to learn pieces of acapella music from the Renaissance period, upload a cut of each piece and submit it for adjudication. The judges, made up of teachers and Middle Tennessee Voice Association (MTVA) members, followed a rubric to select students for the choirs. The All-State weekend event will take place April 27-30 at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel in Nashville. Congratulations to the students listed: Kate Smith - Mid-State SATB, All-State SSAA; Olivia Webber - Mid-State SATB, All-State SSAA; Alexander Wilson - Mid-State SATB, All-State TTBB; Andrew Stanworth - Mid-State SATB, All-State TTBB; Adeline Spears - Mid-State SSAA, All-State SSAA; Sam Holt - Mid-State TTBB, All-State TTBB; Brooks Wheeler - Mid-State SATB; Sydney Loyd - Mid-State SSAA; Adele Smith - Mid-State SSAA and Javkhaa Altansukh - Mid-State SSAA.

Congratulations to the FSSD Teachers of the Year 

Franklin Elementary first grade teacher Lauren Simpson was selected as FSSD Elementary Teacher of the Year. Freedom Intermediate sixth grade science teacher Brittany Martin was selected as FSSD Middle School Teacher of the Year. They were both surprised in class recently by Director of Schools Dr. David Snowden and Associate Director of Schools for Teaching and Learning Dr. Mary Decker, as well as their students!